Adeline Dimond
1 min readJun 19, 2021

--

I'm sorry, but this comment is completely hilarious. Every personal essay (which is what this is, by the way, because I think you might be confused) does not have to fight every injustice. In fact, because it is a personal essay it is not the forum to fight injustice. And It is exactly BECAUSE I am a white woman that my personal essay should not touch on race. I'll go so far to say that it is Black women who should have the floor on race. Don't you agree?

This of course bring up another issue: the idea that because I am privileged and white that I am not allowed to be sad. But it is because I can feel sad, and anger, and all those emotions that makes me also feel visceral anger and sadness at the injustice in the world. See how that works?

In the end, your comment is rank virtual signaling, which to me is a sure sign that you need to some work yourself. Understand that screaming "privilege" and "white" on social media is not in fact activism.

--

--