Adeline Dimond
1 min readJun 16, 2021

--

I have a more recent piece that outlines what I think would work in Sybarite (will link it below). One of the things I mention is that I don't think erotica is the right fit, mostly because it often leads to lazy writing. Obviously, I'm not saying you are a lazy writer, or that by extension your erotica writing is lazy. But what I am saying is that, like self-help writing, it's an easy invitation to be fall into lazy tropes. Most of the erotica I've read on this site reads like a police report: I did this, they did that, another person entered the room...

Conversely, I think it's actually hard to write about other types of pleasure, without stepping into the erotica zone, or the self-help zone. This is one of the reasons I started the publication, because I think that's a writing challenge.

All this said, I hope you submit!

https://medium.com/sybarite/call-for-submissions-on-pleasure-833cb25ba210

--

--