--

Hi Rivka - thanks for the thoughtful reply. I am definitely aware of how the medical community treats people with bodies they deem larger than necessary, and how the so-called "wellness" industry does so much harm. (I've written about this too). In no way did I want this article to seem like I thought "fat" people have it easy.

But after reading all this, I am going stand by my premise because while you're pointing out the ways in which the medical community has failed, I'm talking about something much more narrow: comments on social media posts. And I do think the rise of the body-positivity movement, with all it's good and bad, has made it uncool to make comments about people's weight. I just don't see it happening. (Unless, of course, we are talking about anonymous trolls, which is a whole other Oprah.)

--

--