Adeline Dimond
2 min readFeb 3, 2022

--

First, even though your comment that I must not be a reader is completely impolite, I appreciate you twisting yourself into a pretzel to make it seem it is polite. Not that it's anyone's business, but the idea I'm not a reader is laughable.

Now let's unpack:

Charles Darwin was a scientist reporting on his scientific theory. Toni Morrison - I'm a huge fan as you can probably tell by my piece - didn't write Beloved, The Bluest Eye, The Song of Solomon, to "change people's minds" and if you think that's why they were written, then we will have to disagree about the purpose of great literature.

George Orwell wrote 1984 as a warning. Barbara Kingsolver is overrated by a mile, and should probably be left to airport bookstores. Jane Austen was providing a snapshot of the constraints women suffered -- my favorite Jane Austen novel is Sense and Sensibility, much more interesting than Pride and Prejudice. Maya Angelou is a poet, I really doubt she was wrote poems to "change people's minds." Jack Kerouc was a bohemian, what minds did he want to change about exactly? Have you read any of his work?

Claiming that Shakespeare was writing to change people's minds is...just weird. He wrote comedy and tragedy. Salman Rushdie: maybe you're conflating the fatwa with what he actually wrote, I don't know.

Karl Marx - yeah, no thanks.

Finally, NOAM CHOMSKY IS A LINGUIST. I really doubt he would have a problem with my use of the "fucking" in this piece because the reason of its use is so obvious.

And look, this may come as a shock, but I don't write for you, the reader. Sure, I want what I write to be interesting and readable, and I hope people enjoy it and get something out of it. But commenters (like you) who inevitably show up on any piece, no matter the subject or how it's written, and claim it should be changed as if they're asking a restaurant to skip the salt do not seem to understand this concept. The dish is served as it is served, no substitutions. If it isn't for you, that's fine. But there are no special requests.

--

--