Diary of Surrender, Week 11: I’m Sorry, But Fuck this CPAP Machine

Life is just trading one set of problems for another set of problems.

Adeline Dimond
7 min readApr 24, 2022
Photo by Victor on Unsplash

I’m writing a diary about my year of giving up, although I may give up on this too. Who knows? You can read about why I’m giving up here, and the previous week of saying fuck it here. (The term “week” is used loosely).

One of my problems is that I’m fundamentally a good girl who follows the rules, so when more than one person told me that I stop breathing in the middle of the night, for an alarming amount of time, I dutifully went to see a doctor for sleep apnea. Admittedly, the process took awhile — it started in 2018 with a home sleep test, and then paying $600 out-of-pocket for a mouthguard, because I couldn’t yet wrap my mind around the idea of a CPAP machine. Getting the molds for the mouthguard made me gag so severely I thought I was going to die, and then it didn’t work anyway. My cop boyfriend made this clear in his cop-like way. “Doesn’t work,” he grunted.

So it was back to the drawing board, but the process got interrupted by Mother Nature deciding to put us all in a headlock for two years. When she finally loosened her grip, I went back to a new sleep doctor, who made it clear that my only option was a CPAP machine. Of course, the other option was to do…

--

--