COVID: A Gift to Introverts

Hello, I have COVID. And I will forever.

Adeline Dimond
6 min readNov 26, 2022
Photo by Matthew Henry on Unsplash

Hello, I have COVID. No, I don’t know where I got it. It could have been the Elton John concert I went to on Thursday night, or the haircut I had Friday, or the lunch I had Friday, or the meeting with the contractor I had Saturday, or the lunch I had on Saturday, or the fact that I went into work last Wednesday, before all that. All I know is that by Sunday I was feeling a little weird, so I took a test which was negative. So I went on a hike and out to dinner.

I had tried to get out of this dinner for weeks. It was at a fancy restaurant, and fancy food is something I no longer care about. I’ve eaten everything there is to eat, and am no longer impressed by tender short ribs on polenta or precious tasting menus or artisan butter or wherever the salt comes from. Give me a Cuban sandwich and let’s call it a day.

I wasn’t looking forward to the conversation either because if I’m having dinner with more than one person at a time (this was three other people) I somehow can’t talk fast enough or loud enough to get an word in edgewise. This is the lament of every introvert; if we dare to take a moment to think, or pause, or take a breath, someone inevitably interrupts us, steamrolling over our thoughts, even if we were about to get to the best part in the story. Then the conversation…

--

--